Gun Laws in New Mexico
Gun laws in New Mexico govern the use, sale, and possession of firearms and ammo in the state of New Mexico. A license is required to buy a firearm and a person has the right to own a handgun or to purchase ammunition for a handgun, if that handgun is legal to own. If it is illegal to own a handgun, a person can get a license to purchase a rifle or shotgun. This license is called a permit to purchase; you must have your permit before purchasing any ammunition, but after the license holder has had their license they are allowed to purchase ammunition.
In addition to these laws, all gun owners must maintain the safety and the condition of their firearms. The state has several websites that explain how the laws operate. You must always lock your handgun away when it is not in use or if it is in a safe. The safest way to store a gun is in a drawer in your bedroom. If you are going on an outing with the gun, leave it in a safe, out of the reach of children.
Laws regarding hunting are based on various rules set by the Fish and Wildlife Service. The Fish and Wildlife Service to regulate hunting season, size and number of deer, bear, turkey and other game, as well as season dates for other game such as rabbits, mice and fish. The laws apply to all game within the New Mexico Wildlife Conservation Area.
New Mexico’s firearm regulations also provide information on hunting regulations, where you may go for the sport, hunting areas, hunting seasons and other information. Each state may have additional restrictions for hunting.
In New Mexico, any licensed dealer who sells guns has to ensure that he provides to the buyer complete and up-to-date information about the federal gun control laws. The dealer must display this information, so that the buyer can be aware of the current laws. The dealer must also keep an inventory of the guns available for sale.
If you are under 18 years of age, you must get a license from your local law enforcement office before purchasing a firearm. Although New Mexico has no age restriction, a judge may still refuse to grant a license if the applicant is determined to be of “an irresponsible disposition.”
The local law enforcement agency will check your criminal record and will determine if you should receive a license. If the applicant is denied, then he may file an application with the Attorney General’s Office. to get a hearing within 30 days after the denial is made.
If you are a resident of another state, you must follow New Mexico’s laws while in New Mexico. You cannot possess a handgun while driving, operating an aircraft or operating a boat in any part of the country.
When you move to New Mexico, you must turn over your weapons to the police. Before moving into New Mexico, you must surrender your weapons to your local police station. When moving to New Mexico, you must turn them over to your local police department. If you have more than one weapon, you must give your guns to one officer.
A new state law mandates that you hand over your guns to the local police within 24 hours after you move into New Mexico. It does not matter if you have left your guns in the car.
In addition, New Mexico requires you to register your guns with the state within 48 hours. of purchase. This requirement applies to rifles, handguns and shotguns.
After you buy a gun, you must get a special permit from your local police department before carrying it in public. If you want to carry it on your belt or in a purse, you will have to apply for a permit.